Month: August 2010

  • Volunteering is great, but why not here?

    So, I saw something posted about a pal’s daughter raising funds to do charity work in a foreign country to help children of the world and she has chosen a country in Africa to do this.

    It struck me as somewhat odd and to be honest, a bit presumptuous. 

    She, like I , comes from a major world power that is seen to be pretty together as far as infrastructure etc goes, yet in the reality of it, both our countries could use some help for our kids too.

    You never hear folks overseas talk about raising funds to go help children of the world – and their country of choice being the US, or Canada, or the UK or France.  It’s usually a country in Africa or South America.  Great. Awesome. What about the kids that are poor, malnourished, homeless, uneducated, starving that are living in the US, or Canada, or the UK or France?  They have the same need and are missing out on some of the same aide as the other kids, otherwise they wouldn’t be poor, malnourished, homeless, uneducated, starving and needing the help.

    Think about it this way.  If you personally were a country in Africa or S. America, wouldn’t you wonder why folks always thought of you as inept and really needing more outside help because you just aren’t up to the task of figuring it out or helping yourselves?  I would actually become offended, not happy to always have the handouts and not have to do anything myself or been seen as actually a viable country able to take care of it’s citizens.

    Do people other than me think of these things or these aspects of their actions and what they are requesting? Maybe, they choose those countries because its

    A) fashionable and the media has been reinforcing the idea to them that’s what’s cool

    B) the red tape in the US, or Canada, or the UK or France is just too much to deal with, so they shoot for places with less coordination governmentally

    C) or is it just ignorance or maybe confusion as to the real world goings on?

    What are your thoughts?  I’m really curious to know.  I know this is paraphrasing, but hopefully some of you will get the underlying gist of my query/complaint.

    That’s all from me… if I didn’t get this out, then I really wouldn’t be able to sleep tonight.